Opatija, August 26, 2019
QF = Australia – Japan
The two teams gave proof of solid sportsmanship: during the first stanza there was a complicate ruling, which could have appealed by both sides. However, though even just 1 IMP would have made a difference, both accepted the ruling graciously.
At the end of the match, with the official score being 89-88 for Australia, and when the Japanese players and officials had already left the building, the Australians found a scoring mistake in their favour (1 IMP: an overtrick in 1NT which had been recorded to their credit, but wrongly so), and duly reported it to the TDs. The Japanese were called back, and a tie-break took place (two boards).
Don’t forget to follow us @